House passes bill to make e-duck stamp permanent

The U.S. House of Representatives passed the Permanent Electronic Duck Stamp Act in early June. Co-sponsored by Reps. Rob Wittman (VA) and Ron Kind (WI), the bipartisan bill will make duck stamps permanently available for purchase online. Physical stamps will still be mailed to buyers, but the online proof of purchase provides new convenience to sportsmen and women by immediately fulfilling the requirement of possessing a stamp to hunt waterfowl. After 45 days, the proof of purchase will expire and purchasers must have the traditional paper stamp to receive its full benefits. 

“There is no cost to the taxpayers, there is broad bipartisan support for this innovative idea and this convenient twenty-first century delivery system will be utilized by thousands of American sportsmen in the future. Allowing the purchase of duck stamps online is an important technological advancement and it is time to make this a permanent feature of federal law,” Wittman said. “This is a small but common-sense step to making government work more efficiently for citizens.” 

Federal duck stamp purchases are the primary funding source for the acquisition of lands fully dedicated to providing habitat for waterfowl. Lands acquired under the federal duck stamp program become part of the National Wildlife Refuge System. These habitats are important to fulfilling North American Waterfowl Management Plan goals, particularly wetlands and grasslands conserved via easements and fee-title acquisitions purchased in the Prairie Pothole Region.

“For decades, the sale of duck stamps has generated critical funding for habitat protection and wildlife conservation,” Kind said. “Making duck stamps available for purchase online means greater convenience and accessibility for hunters, collectors and outdoor enthusiasts and more revenue for the important conservation efforts that duck stamps support.”

In the Senate, the Environment and Public Works Committee is considering its e-duck stamp bill, S. 738, introduced by Sen. Roger Wicker (MS). Other co-sponsors include Sens. Max Baucus (MT), Thad Cochran (MS) and Mark Pryor (AR).